Login form protected by Login LockDown.

Artist: The Blue Poets

Album: S/T

Genre(s): Rock

Track Rating
1.       Goodbye ★★★★☆
2.       Too High ★★★★☆
3.       Sad, Sad, Sad ★★★☆☆
4.       Alien Angel ★★☆☆☆
5.       Sunshine of your Love ★★★★☆
6.       Shallow Words ★★☆☆☆
7.       It’s about Time ★★★☆☆
8.       For a God ★★★☆☆
9.       Won’t you Suffer ★★★☆☆
10.   The Truth ★★★☆☆
11. With Your Eyes ★★★☆☆


  1. Goodbye: Good old fashioned blues infused rock and roll album opener that rips right through the rest of the album. Superb energy, kickass vocals, great drumming and thumping basslines that keep us hooked for more.
  2. Too High: Continues the energy and drives us for more of the same. The Blue Poets are totally like a 70s style Stoner band with lots of Clutch vibes.
  3. Sad, Sad, Sad: Marcus Deml keeps pummeling his guitar for more of the same hard rock stoner doom-ish chords that are backed by vocals with a mean and nasty edge
  4. Alien Angel: keeps the action simmering low for a bit and serves as an interlude
  5. Sunshine of Your Love: sign me up for a Cream cover any day of the year. 60s Psychedelia meets the German hard rock scene of the 90s in a refreshing sound.
  6. Shallow Words: Felix Dehmel pounds those drums like jackhammers in this sludgy groovy track
  7. It’s About Time: Brings the heat back on as the album heads to a close. Gordon Grey’s vocals did their charm for me on this one especially with the infectious enthusiasm.
  8. For a God: this one is more of a folk rock type that still has its moments of complete manic chaos hovering around the edges but ultimately pulls out and ends with a simple chord sequence
  9. Won’t You Suffer: This one knows its hard knuckle predecessors and almost comes off as a Van Halen tribute but hey I ain’t complaining.
  10. The Truth: The penultimate track that slowly winds down the album and sets the stage for the coda. Nothing interesting here except layers of guitar that keep piling on.
  11. With Your Eyes: The final track of the album as things come to a sweeping finish. They end with a bang and not with a whimper and I am definitely looking forward to more from these boys.


Picks of the album: Too High, Sad, Sad, Sad, For a God

Overall rating: ★★★★★★★★☆☆