Mugamudi is an upcoming Tamil Superhero Film directed by Mysskin. The movie stars Jiiva, Narain and Pooja Hegde in lead roles. The movie has already garnered huge expectations after the trailer was released. Let us see how the songs have fared.

Music Composer : Krishakumar

Song Rating
Vaaya Moodi Summa Iruda ★★★★☆
Lullaby For Loss ★★★★☆
Kudi Vaazhthu ★★★☆☆
Blue Panther On The Prowl ★★★☆☆
Maayavi ★★½☆☆
Cape of Good Hope ★★★☆☆
Heaven Hell and The Ladder ★★★½☆
Come Lets Fall in Love ★★★★☆
Maayavi Flute ★★★☆☆
Vaaya Moodi Summa Iruda ★★★½☆
Don’t Drive Your Car With This Music On ★★★☆☆

Vaaya Moodi Summa Iruda
Singer : Aalaap Raju 

Aalaap Raju and Jiiva seem to have some hit combo in them. This song is another catchy and breezy number among these two. The song is well composed and has the potential to go to the top of the charts.

Lullaby For Loss

This quite a good instrumental probably showcasing the aftermath of a superhero. It has been composed very well. A good listen.

Kudi Vaazhudhu
Singer : Mysskin 

This the kind of song that reminds you of Mysskin’s previous movies. It sounds quite like ‘Kannadasan Kaarakudi’ from ‘Anjaathey’. However the in between conversations and one liners add credit to this song.

Blue Panther On The Prowl

This theme song which was part of the trailer is a real good composition. However it has few shades of inspiration from other superhero themes. But giving this one to be a superhero movie, the composer might have gone for this theme to not mess up doing something different.

Singer : Chinmayi 

This is a not so interesting song from Chinmayi. It has a normal tune but the lyrics have been written quite well by Madhan Karky. A decent composition.

Cape of Good Hope

Another instrumental. This one makes it 3. This one again is a decent theme when listening for the first time. It might sound better on repeated hearing.

Heaven Hell and The Ladder

The 4th instrumental, this one sounds good. This one emotes the steps taken by a man to grow up strong. Good one indeed.

Come Lets Fall in Love

The next instrumental. As the title suggest, this theme works quite well to showcase the state after a proposal. The composer quite impresses with this theme.

Maayavi Flute

This flute version of the song ‘Maayavi’ in this album sounds better than the song. The tune quite sets in well with the flute. Kudos to the one who has played the flute. It is really gripping and good to hear.

Vaaya Moodi Summa Iruda V2

This is the same song again with guitar interludes and background music. The guitar however gives a different feel to this song. Both the versions sound good in their own way. Anyway this is just a repetition of the previous rendition from Aalaap Raju.

Don’t Drive Your Car With This Music On

The title of this song is quite intriguing. What the composer tends to say is quite not understandable but the instrumental as a whole is well orchestrated and is a good listen.

Album ★★★★★★★☆☆☆

Verdict : An album with total of 11 songs of which 7 are instrumentals is something new to Tamil music. Focusing on the music instead of mindless songs is a welcome change. The composer Krishnakumar has done a neat job. At few instances, one might feel that the instrumentals have been inspired but the composer must be credited for this work as most of them are good to hear. This album might be a start to making movies in Tamil that don’t have unnecessary songs in them. Go get this album if you want to hear something different. It has many reasons to be applauded!