Login form protected by Login LockDown.

Band – Bring Me The Horizon
Album – There Is A Hell Believe Me I’ve Seen It, There Is A Heaven Let’s Keep It A Secret

This is their third full-length studio album. The album’s title is an exact lyric from the first track “Crucify Me”.This album represents a substantial shift in musical direction from the band’s previous releases and features a variety of experimentation, including notable post-hardcore influences, melodic interludes and extended ambient sections, electronic and symphonic keyboard samples, clean vocal segments (with guest vocalists Lights and Josh Franceschi of You Me at Six) and an unconventional use of choir vocal samples in the song “It Never Ends”. This album also features a more complex and structured approach to songwriting than the more standard metalcore of Suicide Season.

Album ★★★★★★½☆☆☆

Song Name Rating
Crucify Me ★★★½☆
Anthem ★★★☆☆
It Never Ends ★★★★½
Fuck ★★★☆☆
Don’t Go ★★★½☆
Home Sweet Hole ★★★★☆
Alligator Blood ★★★½☆
Visions ★★★½☆
Blacklist ★★★☆☆
Memorial ★★★★☆
Blessed with a Curse ★★★★☆
The Fox and the Wolf ★★★★½

After my 1st listen to this album, I was decked. It left me wondering if this was the same band? Everything has improved – the songwriting, the compositions, and especially the lyrics. Debauchery was the general gist of Suicide Season, whereas some of the themes of There Is A Hell revolve around the consequences of that album. Though Sykes lyrics remain as vague as ever, they’ve never been as vulnerable. Throughout the album, he struggles with his inner demons, thus the title. The album begins with the savage six-and-a-half minute opener, “Crucify Me.” The beauty is in the contrast. From the changes in tempo to the vocal exchanges between Sykes and guest vocalist Lights, your attention never wanders off. It sets the entire tone of the album. The aggressive first single, “It Never Ends,” is another example. aided by electrifying guitar riffs (courtesy of Lee Malia and Jona Weinhofen), strings, and a backing choir, Sykes exposes more of his past struggles.

Bring Me The Horizon still holds the metal, however as tracks like “Anthem” and “Home Sweet Hole” take the formula from Suicide Season and add more substance to it. The rhythm section of bassist Matt Kean and drummer Matt Nicholls shine on the latter, as they provide the backbone to the verses. The group shouts of “Home sweet hole!” are bound to stick in your head for a while. “Alligator Blood” is a lesson in breakdowns and will incite the riot, while “Visions” lays down the catchiest chorus on the album. The guttural “Blacklist” sounds like it came from the “cut up” version of Suicide Season, and metal fans will have a blast with “Fox and The Wolf.” The final (and shortest) track on the album, it’s a fireball of a closer. The Chariot’s Josh Scogin joins Sykes in this growlfest, which will result in numerous head injuries.

1. Crucify Me –

The first track starts out gently, but don’t get deceived. The guitars and drums thunder down as Sykes powerful yell enthralls. Immediately I can tell this is a much tighter and cohesive offering from BMTH. Another treat is every-one’s favorite electro-pop girl, Lights whose voice is like a flower appearing out of a war zone, as she hauntingly repeats the album title a few times before Sykes’ voice re-enters.

2. Anthem –

It has never been hidden that Lee Malia could shred with the guitar. But this album is also the debut of BMTH new rhythm guitarist Jona Weinhofen. He doesn’t miss a beat, and this track is one of many examples of their stellar playing. Heavy throughout and sure to incite the riot, the band also subtly insert some melodic riffs underneath all the pummeling. The final minute is absolutely amazing.

3. It Never Ends –

This is the track from the official album teaser. It starts lightly, showing off the band’s new tricks on this record. Really, you can hear the significance of the album title here. The battle between hell and heaven, and this track is a great example,it blends delicacy with brutality. The voices coming from the choir is chilling, and this is just a huge track, additional orchestration is the cherry on top of BMTH best song yet.

4. Fuck –

This song brings out the thrash mentality of the band, but the vocals of You Me At Six’s Josh Franceschi who is made to feature in this song is a nice touch. A lot of sweet riffing from Malia as well. This is metal through and through.

5. Don’t Go –

The band throws another curve ball here, as “Don’t Go” starts out beautifully with strings and gentle guitar strums setting the mood before Sykes passionately screams over it. It’s the most vulnerable song in the band’s career. Lights is also featured on this track, and she and Skyes have a nice call-and-return before the climatic ending.

6. Home Sweet Hole –

The rhythm section of bassist Matt Kean and drummer Matt Nicholls shines in this song, as they provide the backbone to the verses. The group shouts of “Home sweet hole!” are bound to stick in your head for a while.

7. Alligator Blood –

Nicholls is at home here with his double bass kick and clean drum fills. Yes, the added bells and whistles are great on this record, but we still need a few songs like this on the record were we can lose our minds.

8. Visions –

Very similar to the previous track, but with a catchier guitar riff. Potential to be another single.

9. Blacklist –

this track begins with a muted pulse and a grungy guitar riff. This song is just filthy, the kind you find in the gutter and love. Sykes also adds some electronic modifications to his voice while also incorporating a different vocal delivery

10. Memorial –

A dark and slowly paced instrumental, it includes my favorite instrument of all – the organ – and layers it with a cornucopia of noises. It gives you a chance to catch your breath and reflect on it.

11. Blessed with a Curse –

The previous instrumental blends perfectly into this track with a constant pulsation, electronic drumming, and elegant chords. I mention earlier that the album showcases the battle between heaven and hell, and you can hear it again here. Soft and loud collide here, Sykes does some shouting-singing over the verses, which lead into some epic sounding crescendos, showing off a completely different side of the band.

12. The Fox and the Wolf –

The final (and shortest) track on the album featuring Josh Scogin of “The Chariot”, is a fireball of a closer. Josh Scogin joins Sykes in this growlfest, which will result in numerous head injuries.

-Reviewed by Dinesh, MusicPerk team.