It was in 2009 that the English indie folk-rock band, ‘Mumford & Sons’ released their first studio album, ‘Sigh No More’. The album became a huge success and put the band on the global music map. The band consists of Marcus Mumford on vocals/guitar, Ted Dwayne on bass/percussion, Ben Lovett on vocals/keyboards and Winston Marshall on mandolin/banjo. After almost 3 years, they released their second studio album, ‘Babel’ on 24th September 2012. The album is 52 minutes and 17 seconds long and has 12 tracks. It is produced by Markus Dravs and has been released under Island and Glassnote.

Song Name Rating
1.Babel ★★★★☆
2.Whispers in the Dark ★★★☆☆
3.I will wait ★★★★☆
4.Holland road ★★★★☆
5.Ghosts that we knew ★★★½☆
6.Lover of the Light ★★★★☆
7.Lovers’ eyes ★★★★☆
8.Reminder ★★★½☆
9.Hopeless wanderer ★★★★☆
10.Broken crown ★★★☆☆
11.Below my feet ★★★☆☆
12.Not with haste ★★★½☆


 1. Babel

‘I cry Babel, Babel look at me now, the walls of my town, they are coming down’. The lyrical composition is beautiful. Musically, the composition is good but is not something you would not expect from the band. It’s a melodic, folksy and a passionate number.

2. Whispers in the Dark

This second track from the album is 3 minutes 55 seconds long. The musical composition employed is a bit different and have a lot of different sounds incorporated towards the end. Anyway, it’s an interesting track.

3. I will wait

This 4 minutes 26 seconds song reminded me a lot of the band’s hit number, ‘The Cave’. The composition is very similar and the chorus of this third track will haunt you, so beware! I love the lyrics of the song and to give you a glimpse of the lyrical brilliancy, I will you with these lines from the song:

‘Now I’ll be bold, as well as strong and use my head alongside my heart’.

4. Holland road

This is a 4 minutes 30 seconds track. The song is interesting in which the banjo sweetly plays it role and the vocalist Marcus Mumford sings about his pain and anger. It’s a good track. Check it out!

5. Ghosts that we knew

This is a 5 minutes 15 seconds slow number. It starts with only Marcus Mumford on the acoustic and is later joined by Winston Marshall on banjo. This is a good track.

6. Lover of the Light

This is the 5 minutes 6 seconds long sixth track. You will love this track for its vocals, for its lyrics, for its music and for its earthiness.

7. Lover’s eyes

This is a very soothing number lasting 5 minutes and 14 seconds. This strangely resembles ‘Ghosts that we knew’. Tell me what you think!

8. Reminder

This is a short number lasting only about 2 minutes and 12 seconds. This eighth track deals with the pains and confusion suffered by the lover. The lyrical themes is well justified by the music employed with just Marcus and his gritty vocals and sweet acoustic.

9. Hopeless Wanderer

The formula used is old. It has a slow start which later ends with lots of interesting earthy tunes coming together. Nevertheless, this is a good track.

10. Broken Crown

This is again a track that is not so unexpected from this band. Musical formula remains the same and the lyrics deal with confusion and pain in life.

11. Below my feet

This is a good track and musically it did not excite me much because the musical composition remains similar to their earlier tracks.

12. Not with haste

This is the last track of the album. A slow number, with just Marcus on his guitar.  This track could be a good lullaby. Not sure, if this is the perfect end!

Album ★★★★★★★★½☆

‘Babel’ is a good album, no doubt! If it is already a hit and is topping the charts, there is nothing amusing about it. The tracks compiled here have been road-tested. The band played most of the songs on the album on their tours and concerts and they surely were a hit. The music is really good and will surely widen the band’s fan base but as music makers, they should be more experimental, should try to change the current strategy they are employing to make music. I say this not as a critic but as an old fan and well-wisher of the band.