Login form protected by Login LockDown.

Artist: Natalie Jean

Album: Unafraid

Genre(s): Pop

This is Natalie Jean’s third album. She started her career with the 2013 release ‘Obsession’ followed by ‘Natalie Jean’ in 2014. ‘Unafraid’ has 10 tracks and each prove her versatility in different ways

Track Rating
1.       Looking Back ★★★½☆
2.     Please Don’t ★★★★☆
3.      Now I See ★★★★☆
4.       Over You ★★★★☆
5.       Unafraid ★★★★☆
6.     You ★★★★☆
7.       Red Room ★★★★½
8.       Map  ★★★★☆
9.       Will I ★★★½☆
10.     Chasing You ★★★★½


  1. Looking Back:

She starts off strong with this little pop ditty and I am reminded of how diverse each new pop artist feels in the mainstream right now and how much Indie pop could add value to the whole exploding scene. Natalie Jean definitely belongs right on top of things especially in the Indie scene and if this is her breakthrough album it could very well be her best

  1. Please Don’t:

A little slow and elegiac. Reminds you of how good pop can become if one is sincerely following their talent and putting their all out there

  1. Now I see

The third track is more on the mellow side but nevertheless it is soulful and has its heart in the right place with lyrics that are sincere and actually quite peppy to tap your feet to

  1. Over You

Over You is perfectly cushioned at the number 4 spot. More Indie pop but less soulful introspection and more upbeat cheerfulness.

  1. Unafraid

Not a particularly stand out track for me but quietly graceful and at times the vocals remind me of the best of Nina Simone

  1. You

You ties up the rest of the album nicely like a bowtie kicking off the second half with some cool downtempo music and lyrics that are part Lana Del Ray and part Nina.

  1. Map

You get a very rock-sounding track with Map, albeit with that electronic twist. From the raspy vocals to the solid beat, things spill out in a self-assured fashion – that one go-to song at this stage in the album. The lyrics are rich in terms of undertones and only serve to elevate the song.

  1. Red Room

Harmonics that occupy space and lush intros that fill up volume. This is a favorite from the second half of the album and I wish it could go on forever.

  1. Will I 

The penultimate track is more introspective and draws the album to a majestic closure which can only be described as heartfelt and there is not a hint of any mainstream pandering throughout this album.

10. Chasing You 

The powerful closing track is at times intriguing and at times enigmatic. The lyrics take a surprisingly obscure turn but the rendition remains its winsome charm.

Verdict: An album that is thoroughly enjoyable, entertaining and never hesitates to take the plunge to its high art yearnings while staying close to the ground when it comes to melody

Picks of the album: Red Room, Chasing You

Overall rating: ★★★★★★★★☆☆